Monday, December 10, 2007

Drawing Studio



Intense!!!
That's the best way to describe this class. And you know what? after 10 weeks of drawing class with Albert Ephsteyn (yes, the Russian!) I thought I would never fear a drawing class again...but that was a different kind of "intense"...because in Albert's class, It doesn't matter if you're good or bad, experienced in drawing or totally raw in the subject, because when you step in his class, it's like everyone is starting from point zero. There is no pressure about "am I doing better or worse compared to the student next to me" because even though sometimes (or a lot of times) I felt really small in that classroom, it was ok, because everyone was in the same boat.
Anthony Meloro's class is very different because he makes it really clear about who he considers a good drawing student and who sucks. Unfortunatelly, I sucked.
My first impression of him : Jerk!!!
My second impression of him: Asshole!
My tuesdays and thursdays became nightmares to me....I was scared to go to class, because I knew that no matter how hard I tried, it wouldn't be enough. Untill the middle of the semester, the most gentle comment from him about my work was: "Oh my God! I will finally get to sleep tonight, because you finally did something decent!" ... hahah.. my head was like: "Yaaaaaayyy!!! ....jerk.........Whooohooo! I made it! ...GGGRRR jerk!"
But it was only after the midterm that I started to know the real Anthony, and I realized that that was just his method to push me to a higher level, and I have to admit this; I had bad drawings! I really did..(I wouldn't say they completely suck...come on! I still have a self-steem!)
but now I realize that if he didn't do that to me, I wouldn't try harder and I wouldn't make any progress. Today I can say that I can draw in perpective, people, and still lives way much better than before (but still, I'm not a drawing person, so don't expect great charcoal, or ink pieces from me).
I am really thankfull for his moments of arrogance. It really made me grow up.
Today, it's like he's a completely different person to me...I really admire him and he has a very interesting conversation! ....I even find him funny sometimes! ..... (just kidding! .............I'm talking about the "sometimes" part).

3 comments:

Anastasia said...

"not good atdrawing..." whatever patricia!! your soap is awesome!! dont let him get you down!!

Katie said...

for real!! that soap dispenser is amazing!

Rachel said...

Drawing sounds really brutal here at VCU. I'm a transfer, so I already took a few drawing classes in community college. There was a girl who sat next to me who always wore a scarf on her head, like babushka(sp?) style. She put me to SHAME! Both of her parents were artists so she grew up drawing. Anyways, I learned a lot just from watching her. She lives in NY now and makes a living selling her art.